Is Tai Chi safe to learn and practice?
Date of publication of the systematic review: December 2014
Design
Systematic review of 50 randomized control trials (RCTs).
Participants
5678 individuals (mean age: 65 years, male % range: not reported) practicing Tai Chi, including those with balance impairments, musculoskeletal weakness, or reduced physical function; with metabolic, cardiovascular, or immune disorders; with chronic pain; with cognitive deficits or mood disorders; and healthy individuals.
Intervention
Among included RCTs, Tai Chi was used as an intervention. There were no exclusions on the type of Tai Chi intervention or controls intervention.
Comparator
Comparison: Tai Chi versus intervention without Tai Chi.
Major Outcomes
Outcome 1: Number of RCTs reporting adverse events (AEs);
Outcome 2: Type of AEs occurrences in RCTs.
Settings
The reviewers did not state where the trials were conducted and whether the trials were conducted in inpatient or outpatient settings.
Comparison    Tai Chi versus intervention without Tai Chi
Main Results
Among the 153 eligible RCTs evaluating Tai Chi, only 50 RCTs (33%) included reporting of AEs. 103 RCTs were excluded for further quantitative analyses as 100 of them did not mention either AE monitoring protocols or AE reports and the remaining 3 RCTs only mentioned AE protocol but no AE report. Of the 50 RCTs that included an explicit AE report, only 18 trials (12% overall) included an explicit monitoring protocol. AEs in the included 50 studies were reported in various types. No Tai Chi-related serious AEs were reported and 32 studies reported no occurrence of any Tai Chi-related AEs. Fifteen of the 50 studies specifically reported occurrences of minor musculoskeletal aches and pain, with complaints of lower-extremity pain being the most common. Six studies mentioned a report of back-/spine-related pain. In 1 of these back pain reports, pain was severe, leading to withdrawal from the study. Four of the 50 studies reported falls.
Comparison    Tai Chi versus intervention without Tai Chi
Main Results
Among the 153 eligible RCTs evaluating Tai Chi, only 50 RCTs (33%) included reporting of AEs. 103 RCTs were excluded for further quantitative analyses as 100 of them did not mention either AE monitoring protocols or AE reports and the remaining 3 RCTs only mentioned AE protocol but no AE report. Of the 50 RCTs that included an explicit AE report, only 18 trials (12% overall) included an explicit monitoring protocol. AEs in the included 50 studies were reported in various types. No Tai Chi-related serious AEs were reported and 32 studies reported no occurrence of any Tai Chi-related AEs. Fifteen of the 50 studies specifically reported occurrences of minor musculoskeletal aches and pain, with complaints of lower-extremity pain being the most common. Six studies mentioned a report of back-/spine-related pain. In 1 of these back pain reports, pain was severe, leading to withdrawal from the study. Four of the 50 studies reported falls.
Link to Original Article
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24878398
The synopsis is based on the following article:
Wayne PM, Berkowitz DL, Litrownik DE, Buring JE, Yeh GY. What do we really know about the safety of tai chi?: A systematic review of adverse event reports in randomized trials. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. 2014 Dec 31;95(12):2470-83.


* Interpretation of quality assessment results:
• Very low: Further research is most likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Low: Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Moderate: Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• High: Further research is unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Very high: Further research is most unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.

Details of assessment method can be found at Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.

學習和練習太極安全嗎?
系統性文獻回顧發佈日期:二零一四年十二月
研究設計
50個隨機對照試驗結果的系統性文獻回顧。
參加者
5768名練習太極的參加者(平均年齡: 65歲,研究沒有提及參加者的男女比例)。患有平衡障礙、骨骼肌肉無力、身體機能較弱;代謝、心血管、或免疫疾病;慢性痛症;認知障礙或情緒障礙的人士;以及健康人士都可納入研究。
治療組
太極練習,研究對太極和對照的種類沒有限制。
對照組
對照:太極練習對比沒有太極練習。
主要結果(詳見下表)
結果一:隨機對照試驗報告不良反應的數目;
結果二:隨機對照試驗報告不良反應的種類。
設置
研究者沒有報告試驗在門診或住院內進行。
對照     太極練習對比沒有太極練習
主要結果
在153篇關於太極練習的隨機對照試驗中,只有50篇(30%) 報告不良反應。其餘103篇因沒有提及監察不良反應的詳細計劃或報告相關結果,或只有提及不良反應的計劃而沒有報告相關結果,所以在進行進一步定量分析時被排除。在這50篇報告了不良反應的隨機對照試驗中,只有18篇 (12%) 包含詳細監察不良反應的詳細計劃。 這50篇隨機對照試驗中提及的不良反應可分為不同種類。研究指出沒有出現與太極相關的嚴重不良事件,其中32篇隨機對照試驗更指出沒有與太極相關的一般不良事件發生。在50篇隨機對照試驗中,15篇特別報告了輕微肌肉骨骼疼痛和痛症,當中下肢疼痛的情況最為普遍; 6篇則提及了背部或脊柱相關的疼痛,在其中一篇背部疼痛的不良反應事件中,參加者因嚴重痛楚而退出研究;另外4篇提及摔倒。
對照     太極練習對比沒有太極練習
主要結果
在153篇關於太極練習的隨機對照試驗中,只有50篇(30%) 報告不良反應。其餘103篇因沒有提及監察不良反應的詳細計劃或報告相關結果,或只有提及不良反應的計劃而沒有報告相關結果,所以在進行進一步定量分析時被排除。在這50篇報告了不良反應的隨機對照試驗中,只有18篇 (12%) 包含詳細監察不良反應的詳細計劃。 這50篇隨機對照試驗中提及的不良反應可分為不同種類。研究指出沒有出現與太極相關的嚴重不良事件,其中32篇隨機對照試驗更指出沒有與太極相關的一般不良事件發生。在50篇隨機對照試驗中,15篇特別報告了輕微肌肉骨骼疼痛和痛症,當中下肢疼痛的情況最為普遍; 6篇則提及了背部或脊柱相關的疼痛,在其中一篇背部疼痛的不良反應事件中,參加者因嚴重痛楚而退出研究;另外4篇提及摔倒。
原文鏈接
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24878398
本概要源於以下文章:
Wayne PM, Berkowitz DL, Litrownik DE, Buring JE, Yeh GY. What do we really know about the safety of tai chi?: A systematic review of adverse event reports in randomized trials. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. 2014 Dec 31;95(12):2470-83.


*整體證據質量5個等級的含義:
• 極低: 進一步的研究非常可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 低: 進一步的研究很可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 中等: 進一步的研究可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 高: 進一步的研究不太可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 極高: 進一步的研究極少可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
有關證據質量評估的詳情可參考 Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.