Are acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants effective for depression as compared to antidepressants alone?
Date of publication of the systematic review: May 2015
Design
Systematic review of 13 randomized controlled trials (RCTs).
Participants
1046 patients (mean age range: 33.3 to 60.6 years, male %: not reported) with depressive disorder. The DSM-III-R or DSM-IV criteria were used for diagnosis of major depressive disorder (MDD) in three of the included studies. Three studies used the International Classification of Diseases 10th Revision (ICD-10), four used the Chinese Classification of Mental Disorders III (CCMD) and the remaining studies did not report the diagnostic criteria of depressive disorder.
Intervention
Acupuncture and related therapies included manual acupuncture, electroacupuncture and acupuncture plus moxibustion. Antidepressants included selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) such as fluoxetine and paroxetine, tricyclic antidepressants (TCAs) such as amitriptyline, and the tetracyclic antidepressant mianserin. The number of treatment sessions ranged from 9 to 36 and most of the therapies lasted for 6 weeks.
Comparator
Comparison: Acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants versus antidepressants alone.
Major Outcomes
Outcome 1: 17-item Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HAMD-17) score at week 1;
Outcome 2: HAMD-17 score at week 6;
Outcome 3: Response rate, which was defined as the proportion of subjects who had at least some improvement in their depression level at the end of treatment.
Settings
The reviewers did not state whether the included studies were conducted in inpatient or outpatient settings
Comparison    Acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants versus antidepressants alone
Main Results
Compared to antidepressants alone, acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants significantly reduced HAMD-17 score at week 1 (pooled standardized mean difference (pooled SMD): -3.74, 95% CI: -4.77 to -2.70) and week 6 (pooled SMD: -2.52, 95% CI: -4.12 to -0.92). Response rate in the combined treatment group was significantly higher than that in the antidepressant alone group (pooled risk ratio (pooled RR): 1.23, 95% CI: 1.10 to 1.39).
Comparison: Acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants versus antidepressants alone for patients with depression
Outcomes No. of studies (Total no. of participants) Mean score (SD)/ No. of participants in each group Heterogeneity test (I2) Pooled SMD (95% CI) Overall quality of evidence*
Intervention Comparator
1 5 (292) Not reported/138 Not reported/154 0% -3.74 (-4.77 to -2.70) High
2 6 (339) Not reported/162 Not reported/177 71% -2.52 (-4.12 to -0.92) Moderate
Outcomes No. of studies (Total no. of participants) No. of participants who experienced the outcome/ No. of participants in each group Heterogeneity test (I2) Pooled RR (95% CI) Overall quality of evidence*
Intervention Comparator
3 13 (923) 349/460 279/463 68% 1.23 (1.10 to 1.39) High
Keys: SD: standard deviation; SMD: standardized mean difference; RR: risk ratio; CI: confidence interval.
Comparison    Acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants versus antidepressants alone
Main Results
Compared to antidepressants alone, acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants significantly reduced HAMD-17 score at week 1 (pooled standardized mean difference (pooled SMD): -3.74, 95% CI: -4.77 to -2.70) and week 6 (pooled SMD: -2.52, 95% CI: -4.12 to -0.92). Response rate in the combined treatment group was significantly higher than that in the antidepressant alone group (pooled risk ratio (pooled RR): 1.23, 95% CI: 1.10 to 1.39).
Comparison: Acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants versus antidepressants alone for patients with depression
Outcomes 1 2
No. of studies (Total no. of participants) 5 (292) 6 (339)
Mean score (SD)/ No. of participants in each group Intervention Not reported/138 Not reported/162
Comparator Not reported/154 Not reported/177
Pooled SMD (95% CI) -3.74 (-4.77 to -2.70) -2.52 (-4.12 to -0.92)
Overall quality of evidence* High Moderate
Outcomes 3
No. of studies (Total no. of participants) 13 (923)
No. of participants who experienced the outcome/ No. of participants in each group Intervention 349/460
Comparator 279/463
Pooled RR (95% CI) 1.23 (1.10 to 1.39)
Overall quality of evidence* High
Keys: SD: standard deviation; SMD: standardized mean difference; RR: risk ratio; CI: confidence interval.
Conclusion
Benefits
This study showed that acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressants may significantly reduce depression at weeks 1 and 6 when compared to antidepressants alone. The response rate in the combined treatment group was significantly higher than that in the antidepressant alone group. For outcomes 1 and 3, the overall quality of evidence is high. Further research is unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect. For outcome 2, the overall quality of evidence is moderate. Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
Harms
Adverse events which occurred with antidepressants mainly included nausea, dry mouth, headache and listlessness. These events were most apparent in the first 2 weeks of treatment and then relieved or disappeared as treatment progressed. Two studies reported that there were fewer adverse effects in the acupuncture and related therapies plus antidepressant group when compared to antidepressant alone group.
Link to Original Article
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25704563
The synopsis is based on the following article:
Chan YY, Lo WY, Yang SN, Chen YH, Lin JG. The benefit of combined acupuncture and antidepressant medication for depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Affective Disorders. 2015 May 1;176:106-17.


* Interpretation of quality assessment results:
• Very low: Further research is most likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Low: Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Moderate: Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• High: Further research is unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Very high: Further research is most unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.

Details of assessment method can be found at Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.

與抗抑鬱藥相比, 針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對治療抑鬱症有進一步療效嗎?
系統性文獻回顧發佈日期:二零一五年五月
研究設計
13個隨機對照試驗的系統性文獻回顧。
參加者
1046名患有抑鬱症的病人(平均年齡範圍: 33.3至60.6歲,研究者沒有報告性別比例)。其中3篇納入的研究以DSM-III-R或DSM-IV標準來定義重症抑鬱症,3篇用了國際疾病分類標準(ICD-10) 來定義,另外4篇用了中國精神障礙分類標準(CCMD)作定義,而餘下納入的研究則沒有報告診斷抑鬱症的標準。
治療組
針灸及相關療法包括傳統針灸、電針和針灸加艾灸。抗抑鬱藥包括選擇性血清素再攝取抑制劑(SSRIs) 如: 氟西汀和帕羅西汀; 三環類抗抑鬱藥 (TCAs) 如: 阿米替林及四環類抗抑鬱藥如: 米安舍林。治療總共9至36節,為期6週。
對照組
對照:針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對比只用抗抑鬱藥。
主要結果(詳見下表)
結果一:治療第1週17項漢氏憂鬱量表(HAMD-17)的分數;
結果二:治療第6週HAMD-17的分數;
結果三:治療後的應答率(response),應答的定義為參加者抑鬱症水平至少有一些改善的比例。
設置
研究者沒有報告試驗在門診或住院內進行。
對照     針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對比只用抗抑鬱藥
主要結果
與只用抗抑鬱藥相比,針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥可以更顯著地降低第1週(合併標準化均數差(合併 SMD):-3.74, 95% CI: -4.77至 -2.70)和第6週(合併 SMD:-2.52, 95% CI: -4.12至 -0.92)的HAMD-17的分數。在統計學上,針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥組的應答率比只用抗抑鬱藥組高(合併風險比 (合併 RR): 1.23, 95% CI: 1.10至1.39)。
對照:針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對比只用抗抑鬱藥的試驗結果
結果 研究數目 (參加者數目) 平均分(SD) /參加者數目 異質性檢驗 (I2) 合併SMD (95% CI) 整體證據質量*
針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥 只用抗抑鬱藥
5 (292) 沒有報告/138 沒有報告/154 0% -3.74 (-4.77 至 -2.70)
6 (339) 沒有報告/162 沒有報告/177 71% -2.52 (-4.12 至 -0.92) 中等
結果 研究數目 (參加者數目) 事件數目/參加者數目 異質性檢驗 (I2) 合併RR (95% CI) 整體證據質量*
針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥 只用抗抑鬱藥
13 (923) 349/460 279/463 68% 1.23 (1.10 至 1.39)
關鍵詞: SD: standard deviation 標準差; SMD: standardized mean difference標準化均數差; RR: risk ratio風險比; CI: confidence interval可信區間.
對照     針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對比只用抗抑鬱藥
主要結果
與只用抗抑鬱藥相比,針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥可以更顯著地降低第1週(合併標準化均數差(合併 SMD):-3.74, 95% CI: -4.77至 -2.70)和第6週(合併 SMD:-2.52, 95% CI: -4.12至 -0.92)的HAMD-17的分數。在統計學上,針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥組的應答率比只用抗抑鬱藥組高(合併風險比 (合併 RR): 1.23, 95% CI: 1.10至1.39)。
對照:針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥對比只用抗抑鬱藥的試驗結果
結果
研究數目 (參加者數目) 5 (292) 6 (339)
平均分(SD) /參加者數目 針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥 沒有報告/138 沒有報告/162
只用抗抑鬱藥 沒有報告/154 沒有報告/177
合併SMD (95% CI) -3.74 (-4.77 至 -2.70) -2.52 (-4.12 至 -0.92)
整體證據質量* 中等
結果
研究數目 (參加者數目) 13 (923)
事件數目/參加者數目 針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥 349/460
只用抗抑鬱藥 279/463
合併RR (95% CI) 1.23 (1.10 至 1.39)
整體證據質量*
關鍵詞: SD: standard deviation 標準差; SMD: standardized mean difference標準化均數差; RR: risk ratio風險比; CI: confidence interval可信區間.
結論
效果
與只用抗抑鬱藥相比,針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥可以更顯著地改善抑鬱症病人第1週和第6週的情況。針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥組的病人的應答率比只用抗抑鬱藥組高。 針對結果一和三,整體證據質量屬於高。進一步的研究不太可能改變我們對效應估計值的可信性。 針對結果二,整體證據質量屬於中等。進一步的研究可能改變我們對效應估計值的可信性。
不良反應和副作用
研究中服用抗抑鬱藥的不良反應主要包括噁心、口乾、頭痛和沒精打彩。這些反應通常在治療開始後首兩星期出現,然後逐漸緩和或消失。另外,兩篇納入的試驗則提及針灸及相關療法加抗抑鬱藥組病人比只用抗抑鬱藥組出現較少不良反應。
原文鏈接
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25704563
本概要源於以下文章:
Chan YY, Lo WY, Yang SN, Chen YH, Lin JG. The benefit of combined acupuncture and antidepressant medication for depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Journal of Affective Disorders. 2015 May 1;176:106-17.


*整體證據質量5個等級的含義:
• 極低: 進一步的研究非常可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 低: 進一步的研究很可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 中等: 進一步的研究可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 高: 進一步的研究不太可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
• 極高: 進一步的研究極少可能改變目前效應估計值的可信性。
有關證據質量評估的詳情可參考 Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.