Is manual acupuncture effective for treating depression in adults as compared to conventional anti-depression drugs?
Date of Publication of the systematic review: January 2010
Design
Systematic review of 4 randomized controlled trials (RCTs).
Participants
216 adults diagnosed with depression by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), or the Chinese Classification of Mental Disorders (CCMD-2 or CCMD-3). The reviewers did not state the exact range of age and gender proportion. Patients who had no history of depression but diagnosed with depression as co-morbidity after stroke were not included in this summary.
Intervention
Manual acupuncture with varying pattern of point selection were delivered at the frequency of 30 minutes a session, one session a day for at least five days a week during 6 to 12 weeks. Acupuncture points included located on the arms, legs, abdomen and head. Two trials used a standardized treatment protocol with a fixed selection of points administered at each acupuncture session. One trial used a semi-standardized treatment protocol consisting of a pre-defined set of acupuncture points used in combination with acupuncture points selected on the basis of the identification of a symptomatic pattern. One trial used individualized treatment protocol for study participants based on their TCM syndrome differentiation.
Comparator
Comparison 1: Manual acupuncture versus amitriptyline;
Comparison 2: Manual acupuncture versus fluoxetine hydrochloride.
Amitriptyline was administered orally at a dose of 25 mg on the first day. The dose was increased by 25-50 mg each day up to 150 mg. In the second week the dose was adjusted according to response and side effects but ranged from150 mg to 300 mg daily.
Fluoxetine hydrochloride (trade name: Prozac), a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI), was administered orally at a dose of 20 mg a day for 6 to 12 weeks.
Major Outcomes
Outcome 1: Reduction in the severity of depression measured as difference before and after treatment using the Hamilton Rating Scale at the end of treatment (6 to 12 weeks). Score range of the scale was not described and only standardized effect was provided by the reviewers.
Settings
All 4 included trials were undertaken in China. One trial recruited patients from an inpatient hospital setting; two trials recruited patients from both in and outpatient settings; one trial did not state whether patients were recruited from in or outpatient settings.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus amitriptyline
Main Results
Compared to amitriptyline, manual acupuncture did not show significant improvement on the reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 weeks) (standardized mean difference (SMD): 0.33, 95% CI: -0.29 to 0.94).
Comparison 1: Manual acupuncture versus amitriptyline in patients with depression
Outcomes (units) No. of studies (Total number of participants) Mean/No. of participants Heterogeneity test (I2) SMD (95% CI) Overall quality of evidence*
Intervention Comparator
1 (NA) 1 (41) 15.5/20 12.8/21 Not applicable as there is only 1 study. 0.33 (-0.29 to 0.94) Low
Keys: SMD = standardized mean difference; CI = confidence interval.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus fluoxetine hydrochloride
Main Results
Compared to fluoxetine hydrochloride, manual acupuncture has similar curative effect on the reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 to 12 weeks) (pooled SMD:-0.02, 95% CI: -0.33 to -0.28).
Comparison 2: Manual acupuncture versus fluoxetine hydrochloride in patients with depression
Outcomes (units) No. of studies (Total number of participants) Mean/No. of participants Heterogeneity test (I2) Pooled SMD (95% CI) Overall quality of evidence*
Intervention Comparator
1 (NA) 3 (175) Not reported/95 Not reported/80 0% -0.02 (-0.33 to 0.28) Moderate
Keys: SMD = standardized mean difference; CI = confidence interval.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus amitriptyline
Main Results
Compared to amitriptyline, manual acupuncture did not show significant improvement on the reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 weeks) (standardized mean difference (SMD): 0.33, 95% CI: -0.29 to 0.94).
Comparison 1: Manual acupuncture versus amitriptyline in patients with depression
Outcomes (units) 1 (NA)
No. of studies (Total number of participants) 1 (41)
Mean/No. of participants Intervention 15.5/20
Comparator 12.8/21
SMD (95% CI) 0.33 (-0.29 to 0.94)
Overall quality of evidence* Low
Keys: SMD = standardized mean difference; CI = confidence interval.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus fluoxetine hydrochloride
Main Results
Compared to fluoxetine hydrochloride, manual acupuncture has similar curative effect on the reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 to 12 weeks) (pooled SMD:-0.02, 95% CI: -0.33 to -0.28).
Comparison 2: Manual acupuncture versus fluoxetine hydrochloride in patients with depression
Outcomes (units) 1 (NA)
No. of studies (Total number of participants) 3 (175)
Mean/No. of participants Intervention Not reported/95
Comparator Not reported/80
Pooled SMD (95% CI) -0.02 (-0.33 to 0.28)
Overall quality of evidence* Moderate
Keys: SMD = standardized mean difference; CI = confidence interval.
Conclusion
Benefits
Compared to amitriptyline, manual acupuncture did not show significant benefits for patients with depression on the important outcome: reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 weeks). The overall quality of evidence is low. Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect. Compared to fluoxetine hydrochloride, manual acupuncture has similar curative effect for patients with depression on the important outcome: reduction of the severity of depression at the end of treatment (6 to 12 weeks). The overall quality of evidence is moderate. Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
Harms
None of the 4 included trials reported any information on adverse events.
Link to Original Article
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20091556
The synopsis is based on the following article:
Smith CA, Hay PPJ, MacPherson H. Acupuncture for depression. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 1. Art. No.: CD004046. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004046.pub3.


* Interpretation of quality assessment results:
• Very low: Further research is most likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Low: Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Moderate: Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• High: Further research is unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Very high: Further research is most unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.

Details of assessment method can be found at Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.

针灸相比抗抑郁药可以更有效地治疗成人的抑郁症吗?
系统性文献回顾发布日期:二零一零年一月
研究设计
4个随机对照试验的系统性文献回顾。
参加者
216名被精神疾病诊断与统计手册(DSM)或中国精神疾病分类标准(CCMD-2 或 CCMD-3)诊断为抑郁症的患者(研究者没有报告参加者的平均年龄和男性比例。没有抑郁症病史的患者但被诊断为中风后合并抑郁症的病人会被排除。
治疗组
纳入的研究评价了以下方法:在6至12个星期内,1星期至少5天接受约30分钟/节, 1节/天的针灸治疗。穴位的位置包括手臂、脚、腹和头部。2个试验使用标准的治疗,包括每次针灸都有指定的穴位。1个试验使用半标准的治疗,包括指定的穴位和针对症状而选的穴位。1个试验使用个人化的治疗,根据患者的症状而选穴位。
对照组
对照一:针灸对比阿米替林(Amitriptyline) ;在第1天口服25mg阿米替林,剂量每天增加25-50mg直至150mg。在第2个星期,剂量会根据患者的反应和副作用调整,150 mg 至 300 mg/天。
对照二:针灸对比盐酸氟西汀(Fluoxetine hydrochloride) ;盐酸氟西汀需要在6至12个星期口服20mg/天。
主要结果(详见下表)
结果一:抑郁症严重度的减少,治疗后(6至12个星期)使用汉氏量表(Hamilton Rating Scale) 量度治疗前后的差别,研究者没有说明分数的范围,但有提供标准化效应的资料。
设置
4个试验都是在中国进行,1个试验的参加者是住院病人;两个试验的参加者有门诊和住院的病人;另1个试验的研究者没有说明参加者是门诊或住院的病人。
对照    针灸对比阿米替林
主要结果
与阿米替林相比,针灸未能有效改善治疗后(6至12星期)抑郁症的严重度 (标准化均数差(SMD): 0.33, 95% CI: -0.29 至 0.94)。
对照一: 针灸对比阿米替林的试验结果
结果 (单位) 研究数目 (参加者数目) 平均数/参加者数目 异质性试验 (I2) SMD (95% CI) 整体证据质量*
针灸 阿米替林
一 (不适用) 1 (41) 15.5/20 12.8/21 只有一个研究,因此不适用。 0.33 (-0.29 至 0.94)
关键词: SMD = standardized mean difference 标准化均数差; CI = confidence interval可信区间.
对照    针灸对比盐酸氟西汀
主要结果
与盐酸氟西汀相比,针灸对治疗后(6至12星期)抑郁症的严重度有相似的治疗效用(合并SMD:-0.02, 95% CI: -0.33至-0.28)。
对照二:针灸对比盐酸氟西汀的试验结果
结果 (单位) 研究数目 (参加者数目) 平均数/参加者数目 异质性试验 (I2) 合并SMD (95% CI) 整体证据质量*
针灸 盐酸氟西汀
一 (不适用) 3 (175) 没有报告/95 没有报告/80 0% -0.02 (-0.33 至 0.28) 中等
关键词: SMD = standardized mean difference 标准化均数差; CI = confidence interval可信区间.
对照    针灸对比阿米替林
主要结果
与阿米替林相比,针灸未能有效改善治疗后(6至12星期)抑郁症的严重度 (标准化均数差(SMD): 0.33, 95% CI: -0.29 至 0.94)。
对照一: 针灸对比阿米替林的试验结果
结果 (单位) 一 (不适用)
研究数目 (参加者数目) 1 (41)
平均数/参加者数目 针灸 15.5/20
阿米替林 12.8/21
SMD (95% CI) 0.33 (-0.29 至 0.94)
整体证据质量*
关键词: SMD = standardized mean difference 标准化均数差; CI = confidence interval可信区间.
对照    针灸对比盐酸氟西汀
主要结果
与盐酸氟西汀相比,针灸对治疗后(6至12星期)抑郁症的严重度有相似的治疗效用(合并SMD:-0.02, 95% CI: -0.33至-0.28)。
对照二:针灸对比盐酸氟西汀的试验结果
结果 (单位) 一 (不适用)
研究数目 (参加者数目) 3 (175)
平均数/参加者数目 针灸 没有报告/95
盐酸氟西汀 没有报告/80
合并SMD (95% CI) -0.02 (-0.33 至 0.28)
整体证据质量* 中等
关键词: SMD = standardized mean difference 标准化均数差; CI = confidence interval可信区间.
结论
效果
与阿米替林相比,针灸未能有效改善治疗后(6至12星期)抑郁症的严重度。整体证据质量属于低。进一步的研究很可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。 与盐酸氟西汀相比,针灸对改善抑郁症的严重度有相似的治疗效用。整体证据质量属于中等。进一步的研究可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
不良反应和副作用
试验没有报告任何不良反应和副作用。
原文链接
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20091556
本概要源于以下文章:
Smith CA, Hay PPJ, MacPherson H. Acupuncture for depression. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2010, Issue 1. Art. No.: CD004046. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD004046.pub3.


*整体证据质量5个等级的含义:
• 极低: 进一步的研究非常可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 低: 进一步的研究很可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 中等: 进一步的研究可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 高: 进一步的研究不太可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 极高: 进一步的研究极少可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
有关证据质量评估的详情可参考 Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.