Is manual acupuncture effective in treating menopausal hot flashes?
Date of publication of the randomized controlled trial: February 2016
Design
Randomized controlled trial (RCT).
Participants
327 women older than 40 years in their late menopausal transition or postmenopausal with at least 7 moderate hot flashes daily, meeting criteria for Chinese medicine diagnosis of kidney yin deficiency. (Mean age for manual acupuncture group: 55.2 years, mean age for sham group: 54.8 years).
Intervention
Manual acupuncture was provided twice weekly for 2 weeks and weekly for the remaining 6 weeks. Six acupuncture points were needled until de qi. Needles were retained for 20 minutes with manual manipulation (twirling and rotating) for 20 minutes. The acupuncturists had bachelor’s degrees in Chinese medicine, and with at least 5 years of clinical experience.
Comparator
Comparison: Manual acupuncture versus sham acupuncture.
Major Outcomes
Outcome 1: Hot flashes scores as measured by a validated hot flashes diary at the end of treatment (8 weeks). Hot flashed scores can include 0 but have no upper limit. Lower score indicated the greater improvement of hot flashes.
Settings
This study was performed in an outpatient setting.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus sham acupuncture
Main Results
Compared to sham acupuncture, manual acupuncture showed no significant difference in mean hot flashed scores at the end of treatment (mean difference (MD): 0.33, 95% CI: -1.87 to 2.52). Both groups showed approximately 40% improvement at the end of treatment compared to the mean baseline hot flashes scores.
Comparison: Manual acupuncture versus sham acupuncture among postmenopausal women
Outcomes (units) No. of studies (Total no. of participants) Mean score / No. of participants Heterogeneity test (I2) MD (95% CI) p value Overall quality of evidence*
Intervention Comparator
1 (NA) 1 (327) 15.36/ 163 15.04/ 164 Not applicable as there is only 1 study 0.33 (-1.87 to 2.52) 0.77 Low
Keys: MD = mean difference, CI = confidence interval.
Comparison    Manual acupuncture versus sham acupuncture
Main Results
Compared to sham acupuncture, manual acupuncture showed no significant difference in mean hot flashed scores at the end of treatment (mean difference (MD): 0.33, 95% CI: -1.87 to 2.52). Both groups showed approximately 40% improvement at the end of treatment compared to the mean baseline hot flashes scores.
Comparison: Manual acupuncture versus sham acupuncture among postmenopausal women
Outcomes (units) 1 (NA)
No. of studies (Total no. of participants) 1 (327)
Mean score / No. of participants Intervention 15.36/ 163
Comparator 15.04/ 164
MD (95% CI) 0.33 (-1.87 to 2.52)
p value 0.77
Overall quality of evidence* Low
Keys: MD = mean difference, CI = confidence interval.
Conclusion
Benefits
Compared to sham acupuncture, manual acupuncture showed no significant reduction in mean hot flashes scores at the end of treatment. Both groups showed approximately 40% improvement at the end of treatment as compared to mean baseline hot flashes scores. The overall quality of evidence is low. Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
Harms
No serious adverse events were reported. 21 adverse events were reported in manual acupuncture group, while 5 adverse events were reported in sham acupuncture group. Most events were mild, self-limiting, and intrinsic to acupuncture (such as bleeding and pain).
Link to Original Article
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26784863
The synopsis is based on the following article:
Ee C, Xue C, Chondros P, Myers SP, French SD, Teede H, et al. Acupuncture for Menopausal Hot FlashesA Randomized TrialAcupuncture for Menopausal Hot Flashes. Annals of internal medicine. 2016 Feb 2;164(3):146-54.


* Interpretation of quality assessment results:
• Very low: Further research is most likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Low: Further research is likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Moderate: Further research is fairly likely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• High: Further research is unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.
• Very high: Further research is most unlikely to have an important impact on our confidence in this estimate of effect.

Details of assessment method can be found at Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.

针灸可以有效治疗更年期潮热吗?
随机对照试验发布日期:二零一六年二月
研究设计
随机对照试验。
参加者
327名40岁或以上处于停经过渡期后期或停经后的女性,在1天内最少有7次潮热,合符中医诊断为肾阴虚的准则(针灸组平均年龄:55.2岁,假针灸组平均年龄:54.8岁)。
治疗组
针灸疗法,2次/星期(首2个星期)和1次/星期(余下6个星期)。医师会在6个穴位上进行针灸直至得气,留针20分钟加转针20分钟。针灸治疗师拥有中医学学士学位及5年或以上的临床经验。
对照组
对照:针灸对比假针灸。
主要结果(详见下表)
结果一:治疗后以经验证的潮热日记去量度患者的潮热分数,分数可以为0分,但不设上限。分数愈高,潮热情况愈差。
设置
此研究在门诊内进行。
对照    针灸对比假针灸
主要结果
与假针灸相比,针灸未能更有效地改善治疗后的平均潮热分数(平均数差异(MD): 0.33, 95% CI: -1.87 至 2.52)。可是,与基线相比,两组参加者均在治疗后的平均潮热分数上均有约40%的改善。
对照:针灸对比假针灸的试验结果
结果 (单位) 研究数目 (参加者数目) 平均分/ 参加者数目 异质性检验 (I2) MD (95% CI) p值 整体证据质量*
针灸 假针灸
一 (不适用) 1 (327) 15.36/ 163 15.04/ 164 只有一个研究,因此不适用。 0.33 (-1.87 至 2.52) 0.77
关键词: MD = mean difference平均数差异; CI = confidence interval 可信区间.
对照    针灸对比假针灸
主要结果
与假针灸相比,针灸未能更有效地改善治疗后的平均潮热分数(平均数差异(MD): 0.33, 95% CI: -1.87 至 2.52)。可是,与基线相比,两组参加者均在治疗后的平均潮热分数上均有约40%的改善。
对照:针灸对比假针灸的试验结果
结果 (单位) 一 (不适用)
研究数目 (参加者数目) 1 (327)
平均分/ 参加者数目 针灸 15.36/ 163
假针灸 15.04/ 164
MD (95% CI) 0.33 (-1.87 至 2.52)
p值 0.77
整体证据质量*
关键词: MD = mean difference平均数差异; CI = confidence interval 可信区间.
结论
效果
与假针灸相比,针灸未能更有效地改善治疗后的平均潮热分数。可是,与基线相比,两组参加者均在治疗后的平均潮热分数上均有约40%的改善,整体证据质量属于低。进一步的研究很可能改变我们对效应估计值的可信性。
不良反应和副作用
研究没有报告任何严重的不良反应和副作用。在针灸组中,有21宗不良反应事件;而在假针灸组中,有5宗不良反应事件。大多数不良反应的事件都是轻微、自限性和属于针灸原有的反应,包括流血和疼痛。
原文链接
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26784863
本概要源于以下文章:
Ee C, Xue C, Chondros P, Myers SP, French SD, Teede H, et al. Acupuncture for Menopausal Hot Flashes A Randomized Trial Acupuncture for Menopausal Hot Flashes. Annals of internal medicine. 2016 Feb 2;164(3):146-54.


*整体证据质量5个等级的含义:
• 极低: 进一步的研究非常可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 低: 进一步的研究很可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 中等: 进一步的研究可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 高: 进一步的研究不太可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
• 极高: 进一步的研究极少可能改变目前效应估计值的可信性。
有关证据质量评估的详情可参考 Chung VC, Wu XY, Ziea ET, Ng BF, Wong SY, Wu JC. Assessing internal validity of clinical evidence on effectiveness of CHinese and integrative medicine: Proposed framework for a CHinese and Integrative Medicine Evidence RAting System (CHIMERAS). European Journal of Integrative Medicine. 2015 Aug 31;7(4):332-41.